”Driving while license is suspended - Oftentimes those charged with DWLS do not even know that their license was ever suspended, canceled, or revoked. A person’s driver’s license can be suspended for a number of reasons such as:
Failing to pay traffic ticket; Failing to pay child support; Failing to appear at a traffic ticket hearing; or Failing to have car insurance.
When Do You Contact
A Tampa Criminal Defense
Lawyer Regarding Driving while License is Suspended, Canceled, or Revoked?
Driving while License is suspended in the State of Florida comes in two forms, without knowledge or driving with knowledge. Driving without knowledge is considered a moving violation which means that there is no jail time. The more serious form is driving with knowledge which has the possibility of jail time. Anyone charged with Driving While License Suspended in Tampa should seek immediate counsel with a Tampa criminal defense lawyer.
What is Driving While License Suspended ?
This charge come sin two forms: The first is driving without knowledge and second is driving with knowledge of a suspended license. Driving without knowledge is considered a moving violation which ultimately means that there is no jail time. The more serious form is driving with knowledge which has the possibility of jail time. The type of motor vehicles includes in addition to cars, trucks, and other common motor vehicles are all-terrain vehicles, mopeds, and go-peds; however, skateboards, horse carriages, and bicycles are not covered under this statute.
What are the punishments of Driving while License is Suspended?
The first conviction is a second-degree misdemeanor which is punishable up to 60 days in jail and a $500 fine. A second conviction is a first-degree misdemeanor which is punishable up to 365 days in jail and a $1,000 fine. A third conviction is a third-degree felony which is punishable up to 5 years in prison and a $5,000 fine. If the driver acts carelessly or negligently in the vehicle’s operation and another person is killed or seriously injured, it is a third-degree felony punishable up to 5 years in prison and a $5,000 fine.
Should I Hire a Tampa Criminal Defense Lawyer?
Florida’s penalties for Driving While License is Suspended could be severe and our Tampa criminal defense lawyers examine carefully every element of your case to provide you with the best possible defense at this difficult point in your life. Furthermore, defending Driving While License is Suspended charges requires the understanding of complex defenses which are unique to these types of cases. Contacting a criminal defense attorney early on ensures you’re not missing out from defenses that may not be available later on down the line.
All cases vary and the defenses for each are unique to thier situation. it would be near impossible to list all the potential defenses to Driving While License is Suspended, however below are some of the more popular defenses:
- Fault of Law enforcement;
- Fault of Law DMV;
Finding a Driving While License is Suspended Attorney In Tampa
If you have been charged with Driving While License is Suspended and you're in need of legal help, contact a criminal defense lawyer at The Law Office of Mahmud Yennes. We will work hard on your case!Free Consultation