”Aggravated assault - it is illegal for anyone under the age of twenty one (21) to be in possession of an alcoholic beverage. (The Statute makes an exemption for persons who are at least eighteen years of age to sell, prepare, or serve alcohol at an establishment that is licensed to serve alcohol.)
When Do You Contact
A Tampa Criminal Defense
Lawyer Regarding Minor In Possession?
Aggravated assault and aggravated battery are both felonies in the State of Florida. Anyone charged with aggravated assault or aggravated battery in Tampa should seek immediate counsel with a Tampa criminal defense lawyer.
What is a Minor in Possession?
Minor in possession refers to the physical control of an alcoholic beverage by one who is under the age of twenty one (21). The Florida Statute does indicate an exception to those over 18 who are employed in a legally licensed establishment that serves alcohol.
What are the Penalties for a Minor in Possession?
The Florida courts estabished that a first offense is designated as a second degree misdemeanor, and the court can subject the minor to sixty (60) days in jail or six (6) months of probation, as well as a $500 fine. Subsequent offenses are classified as first degree misdemeanors. The defendant may be subject to a sentence of up to one year in jail or twelve months of probation, in addition to a $1,000 fine.
Tampa Criminal Defense LawyersFree Consultation
Our Tampa criminal defense lawyers represent clients in both state and federal court on all criminal charges.
Should I Hire a Tampa Criminal Defense Lawyer?
Florida’s penalties for a Minor in Possession could be severe and our Tampa criminal defense lawyers examine carefully every element of your case to provide you with the best possible defense at this difficult point in your life. Furthermore, defending a Minor in Possession charge requires the understanding of complex defenses which are unique to these types of cases. Contacting a criminal defense attorney early on ensures you’re not missing out from defenses that may not be available later on down the line.
All cases vary and the defenses for each are unique to thier situation. it would be near impossible to list all the potential defenses to aggravated assault and aggravated battery, however below are some of the more popular defenses:
- Lack of knowledge of the alcoholic nature;
- Non-alcoholic beverage;
- Inability of the prosecution to prove control ;
- Lack of proof of knowledge0;
- Destruction of evidence;
- Entrapment ;
- Holding a drink for a friend, but not realizing the nature;
- Lack of a search warrant”.
Finding An Underage Possession Of Alcohol Attorney In Tampa
If you have been charged with Underage Possession Of Alcohol and you're in need of legal help, contact a criminal defense lawyer at The Law Office of Mahmud Yennes. We will work hard on your case!Free Consultation