Skip to main content
Traffic law

Florida’s texting while driving law Effective January 1, 2020

By December 27, 2019March 27th, 2020No Comments

Florida’s texting

while driving law

The new law went into affect July 1, 2019. This was considered the “trial period” where police were instructed to provide warnings rather than tickets.

Effective January 1, 2020 the law will change, Florida Police have been trained and instructed to give tickets for those caught while using their phones.

texting while driving
Tampa Car Accidents

Is this new FL law a complete ban on texting while driving?

In short. Yes. Florida Law dictates that it is a violation of the law where one is caught “manually typing or entering multiple letters, numbers, symbols or other characters into a wireless communications device or while sending or reading data on such a device for the purpose of nonvoice interpersonal communication,”

What if I need my phone for directions (Google maps)?

The use of navigation is allowed, there is an exception to vehicle navigation, as well as data that is read by the vehicle, radio broadcasts and safety-related information such as weather and emergency alerts.

What happens if I am at a red light (A complete stop)?

At your own caution. The law specifically states the following “a motor vehicle that is stationary is not being operated and is not subject to the prohibition.” So technically texting while at a complete stop is not a violation.

Can I answer phone calls while driving?

Using handheld devices will still be allowed, except when driving in a school zone or construction zone while workers are present. It is recommended to use hands-free technology such as Bluetooth to avoid any issues.

How much will a ticket under this new violation be?

For first time offenses the fine is $30 and a point off your license. If you’re caught again within five years the subsequent fine will be $60 and three points per occurance.

Mahmud Yennes

Author Mahmud Yennes

More posts by Mahmud Yennes

Leave a Reply